Now that I am done with my undergraduate studies, should I become a graduate student?

No, if the reason for doing so is because you still don’t know what you want to do with your life. Getting a real job will instead force you to clarify your goals in life.

No, if the reason is because you have a nice CGPA.

No, if you think the pool of chasable males or females is more attractive at that level (the opposite turns out to be true more often) 

No, if you think an MSc or PhD will give you an easy lifestyle and respect.

But …

Yes, if doing science is more like having fun rather than work.

Yes, if you like to work with young people and infect them with the love of learning.

Yes, if you feel that proving a theorem or solving a tough problem will make you happy all day.

Congratulations to Class 2008 for getting this far, and all the best to your future endeavours!

About Tsung Fei

A teacher, researcher in the bioinformatics division at the University of Malaya
This entry was posted in Education. Bookmark the permalink.

3 Responses to Now that I am done with my undergraduate studies, should I become a graduate student?

  1. aHLang says:

    i am examining myself again after i read this o.0 …….

  2. Sophos says:

    I like the last YES. Cheers!

  3. Nobita says:

    nice one. I found my friends unsure about themselves after they’ve enrolled in graduate studies.

Leave a Reply

